Several Books

by bellasemplicita

tumblr_nqemwh9w4r1qzupj0o1_1280

Unfortunately college is busy!  And so I have read very few books on my own this past semester.  But as they are so few, they are only more important to me.  A quote from each of these books:

“He wanted to cry quietly but not for himself: for the words, so beautiful and sad, like music.” – A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, James Joyce

“Being against evil doesn’t make you good. Tonight I was against it and then I was evil myself. I could feel it coming just like a tide… I just want to destroy them. But when you start taking pleasure in it you are awfully close to the thing you’re fighting.” – Islands In the Stream, Ernest Hemingway

“I need you, the reader, to imagine us, for we don’t really exist if you don’t.” – Lolita, Nabokov

“When people talk listen completely. Don’t be thinking what you’re going to say. Most people never listen. Nor do they observe. You should be able to go into a room and when you come out know everything that you saw there and not only that. If that room gave you any feeling you should know exactly what it was that gave you that feeling.” – Across the River Into the Trees, Ernest Hemingway

“People to whom sin is just a matter of words, to them salvation is just words too.” – As I Lay Dying, William Faulkner

“Listen, nothing’s better than being useful. Tell me how, at the present moment, I can be most of of use. I know it’s not for you to decide that, but I’m only asking for your opinion. You tell me, and what you say I swear I’ll do! Well, what is the great thought?”

“Well, to turn stones into bread. That’s a great thought.”

“The greatest? Yes, really, you have suggested quite a new path. Tell me, is it the greatest?”

“It’s very great, my dear boy, very great, but it’s not the greatest. It’s great but secondary, and only great at the present time. Man will be satisfied and forget; he will say: ‘I’ve eaten it and what am I to do now?’ The question will remain open for all time.” – The Adolescent, Fyodor Dostoevsky

 

