The Power and the Glory

by bellasemplicita

man

A few months ago I read an interesting book by Graham Greene entitled The Power and the Glory (which I would highly recommend).  I thought I would share two selections that gave me some things to think about.

‘Man was so limited: he hadn’t even the ingenuity to invent a new vice: the animals knew as much.  It was for this world that Christ had died: the more evil you saw and heard about you, the greater glory lay around the death; it was too easy to die for what was good or beautiful, for home or children or a civilization – it needed a God to die for the half-hearted and the corrupt.’

‘It was odd – this fury to deface, because, of course, you could never deface enough.  If God had been like a toad, you could have rid the globe of toads, but when God was like yourself, it was no good being content with stone figures – you had to kill yourself among the graves.’

