Ingredients

by bellasemplicita

tumblr_m6gwgqTB861qbyk5qo1_500

I love good food and I so love to prepare good food.  I will not say that I am a good cook but I am learning and may attain that status someday.  My wonderful mother is always so lovely and willing to let me try new things.  I thought that I would quickly share something that I have learned.  It is very obvious that to make a wonderful dish you must have the very best of ingredients.  As I cook more and more I have found a few ingredients – seven to be exact – that are not only essential to a good dish, but with which you can make almost anything taste good.  I thought that I would share these:

Salt, pepper, olive oil, butter, lemons, garlic, and onions.

You can dress every meat and vegetable that I have run across with these ingredients:  vegetables sauteed in butter with a little onion or garlic, chicken breasts rubbed with olive oil, freshly squeezed lemon juice, salt, and pepper before cooking (or grilling) . . .  The list goes on.  Olive oil and butter are also delicious on a thick slice of a good crusty loaf of bread.  Of course with regards to olive oil, make sure that you have the very best extra virgin cold pressed oil.

About lemons: I personally love Meyer lemons – they are almost sweet.  We have a beautiful Meyer lemon tree in our dining room that has many little baby lemons all over it.  I can not wait for them to ripen!

As I mentioned above, I am just beginning to cook and am thus very inexperienced.  If you have any helpful hints or other ingredients that you can not cook without, please let me know!  I always love to learn new things.

Still life by Helen Simmonds, found here.

