Some Thoughts

by bellasemplicita

bird

I am presently reading Aristotle’ s ‘Logic’.

After reading Plato, he at first seemed so very harsh.  It is true that I had such an impression even before I attempted to read – or rather study – any of his works.  It seems to be the unacknowledged and yet accepted fact among the unscholarly that he is simply a boring academician that only scholars ought to have anything to do with – this opposed to the love and almost comfortable kinship that always seems to surround Plato.  Of course reading Plato can easily make you uncomfortable, but there is something so much more everyday and understandable about his writings and his ‘search’ for the truth.

But what uneducated (and surprised) me seems to be finding the more I read, is that Aristotle is often more enjoyable to read than Plato.  Maybe this is partially because one does have to think  more and work a great deal harder to try and digest his thoughts.  Also the fact that  many of his writings that have come down to us appear to be merely notes for lectures, shows what a great love for learning he has.  He appears not to even bother to take the time to beautifully record his thoughts – not that their simplicity is not beautiful – but simply places them down as quickly as he can so that he can get on to learning more.  What an insatiable desire for knowledge!  That is what I am beginning to so love about him.

Now of course I am very unknowledgeable.  I am simply writing my first impressions on some of the greatest thinkers of all time.  I should at least get brownie points for being so brave don’t you think?

Oh, and if perhaps you have never attempted to read any Plato or Aristotle, please do.  They are not nearly as difficult as they are made out to be and even if you find it to be so, isn’t it worthwhile to read something a little above your level of understanding?  (I find that when I have to wrestle with a book or its author, I am almost always brought up to a higher level of understanding myself.  Of course this may simply be self-deceit!)

