An Apology and a Recipe

by bellasemplicita

First the apology.

About two months ago – maybe longer –  I received a beautifully handwritten letter from my friend Nicki.  She was starting a letter network (letters are becoming rare, you know, a dying art)  and was kind enough to invite me to join . . and I failed.  I never sent a return letter.  My excuse: no stamps in the house.  Dear Nicki, I am so sorry!  Please accept this apology and hopefully you will receive a letter very soon.  Anyway she has two great blogs that I thought I would share.  I hope that you check them out!

British@hart

The Eclectic Mind of an Artist

Next thing up – the recipe.  I was reading the latest post on my other good friend Isabelle’s blog.  It was a recipe for Strawberry Scones with a mouthwatering picture.  I haven’t made them yet but am hoping to very soon.  I attached the recipe as I thought you might enjoy them as well!  Thanks Izze!

Her blog:

Izzeland

Double-Strawberry Scone

Ingredients

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 Tbsp. sugar
1 Tbsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) of butter
3/4 cup chopped fresh strawberries
1/2 cup freeze-dried strawberries (optional)
2 Tbsp. snipped basil
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 cups half-and-half
half-and-half or milk and sugar (to be used later)

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. In a large bowl stir together the flour, the 2 tablespoons sugar, baking powder, and salt. Using a pastry blender or two knives, cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Gently toss in fresh and freeze-dried strawberries and basil. Make a well in center of flour mixture; set aside.

2. In a medium bowl stir together eggs and the half-and-half. Add egg mixture to flour mixture all at once. Using a large spoon, gently stir just until moistened.

3. Turn dough out onto a generously floured surface. Knead dough by folding and gently pressing it 5 to 7 times, turning dough a quarter turn after each fold. Transfer to a lightly floured parchment-lined baking sheet. Pat or lightly roll dough into a 3/4-inch-thick circle. Cut circle into wedges and pull apart slightly.

4. Brush wedges with additional half-and-half and sprinkle with sugar. Bake about 16 minutes or until golden. Serve warm. Refrigerate any leftover scones; reheat 15 seconds in microwave. Makes 12 scones.

Note:  I only use fresh starwberries and I do more that 3/4 cup as I like a lot of strawberries.  Also, I have never used the basil, it tastes fine without it.

